tonight: warm kale salad

tonight: warm kale salad
warm kale salad with bacon, roasted carrots and avocado

I’m sitting at the swimming pool with a couple of my grandkiddos. They’re bouncing and bobbing on noodles with a lot of other kids. It’s Spring Break, it’s loud, it’s humid and smells like the pool crew added more than enough chlorine to kill anything that might be floating in it.

My thought was to write this week’s food blog while they had a grand wet, splashing time. I’m a little distracted, though; can’t imagine why.

Every day the age old question of “what’s for dinner?” gets asked. Quite frankly, I’m one of those people that fix dinner at home from ingredients with single names and no added stuff. However, I find myself in that same quandary.

Recently, my sister-in-law suggested I put together weekly menus for people; this coming from someone who is a really good cook. The thought is great, my time is short, but I thought maybe I have time to write a “Tonight” post once a week. It will be a short, one picture and a recipe sort of thing.

Cheers, Lisa (said sis-in-law) for the inspiration! Oh, and not to worry, these snippet posts will only enhance, not replace the longer stories and recipes.

Warm Kale Salad

(Serves 2 to 4)

Ingredients

  • 8-10 cups kale
  • 6 carrots
  • 1 large avocado
  • 6 slices thick cut bacon
  • Granulated garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Salt and fresh ground pepper

Methodology

  • Wash, dry and prepare 8 to 10 cups kale of choice. I like a curly-leaved kale. Chop into bite-sized pieces, place in a bowl and sprinkle with 2 tablespoons each olive oil and balsamic vinegar and ½ teaspoon salt. Massage into the kale and set aside.
  • Cut carrots into finger-sized pieces. Place on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and season with salt, pepper and granulated garlic. Roast in a 425 degree oven for about 15 minutes, or until soft and slightly charred.
  • Fry bacon until just barely crisp and still a bit chewy. Drain on paper towels and give it a rough chop.
  • Cube the avocado into ½” chunks.
  • Assemble the salad: to the kale add the hot carrots and bacon. Mix in the avocado. Taste for additional salt, pepper or vinegar. Toss well and serve.

The warm ingredients will further wilt and soften the kale. Serve with crusty bread, if desired.

Happy eating, my friends!

Missy

 

 

3 thoughts on “tonight: warm kale salad

  1. The “What’s for dinner?” Question has become somewhat of a joke in our house. 😉 Many days this question doesn’t get answered until I heat up a sauté pan and check what’s in the fridge.
    Salads seem like a good solution on those nights! Love your kale salad! New Seasons has one in their deli, with sautéed onions and sunflower seeds. I could eat it several times a week. One of these days, I’ll replicate it!
    I look forward to your new “Tonight” posts. I always walk away inspired and with fresh ideas from your cooking posts!
    Have a good week too, Missy! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

