tiny meatball soup

tiny meatball soup
tiny meatball soup with oregano, basil and fresh parsley

You know that point when you’re totally over the indulgence of Holiday food? Yeah, for me it’s like on Thanksgiving night. I do love all the components; I guess it’s the volume.

So on Sunday afternoon, when we were invited to stop by one of our kids for leftovers, I gently sighed and accepted, remembering I’d loved the quinoa salad my daughter-in-law had prepared.

To my full on taste bud delight, she had a pot of soup on the burner. It was Italian Wedding Soup-ish with tiny meatballs floating in a savory broth with visible flecks of herbs. I had two bowls before we needed to scoot to the market ourselves.

tiny meatball soup
fresh parsley adds a new dimension to warm, steamy soup

It’s really not a good idea to go grocery shopping sans a list, however I did have basics in mind and I wanted to replicate Shirl’s soup; pantry staples plus ground meat and broth would suffice. Simple is my mantra; let the ingredients speak for themselves.

Scanning a few recipes for Italian Wedding soup, I got the gist and set out to put together a not-authentic pot of brothy meatball soup. Utilizing purchased and leftover ingredients, here’s what emerged:

tiny meatball soup
almost finished another bowl

Tiny Meatball Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1 medium onion
  • 6 rainbow carrots
  • 4 cups turkey stock (yes, I know, but it was available)
  • 2 cups red wine (leftover and exposed to the air, so not drinkable in my mind)
  • 1 tablespoon each dried oregano and basil
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 bunch fresh Italian parsley
  • 1 cup orzo
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • Cheese to grate on top (I used sharp white cheddar that was slightly nutty and granular. Parmesan or pecorino would be good suggestions.)

Methodology

  • Form the ground meat into one inch balls. I intentionally didn’t season the meat, wanting it to absorb the flavors of the broth, wine and herbs.
  • Heat a large soup pot over medium high heat; place meatballs in it and sauté until fat releases and meatballs are starting to brown. Skim off the fat.
  • Chop the onions and carrots into ¼ inch dice while the meatballs brown. Add to the pan and cook for 3 to 4 minutes or until onions soften and become translucent.
  • Rough chop parsley and set aside.
  • Stir in the oregano, basil and garlic, followed by the broth and wine. Bring to a slow boil, reduce heat to a simmer, cover the pot and allow to cook until the vegetables are soft and meatballs are cooked through, approximately 15 to 20 minutes.
  • Turn heat up to medium high, add orzo and cook until al dente, about 6 to 8 minutes.
  • When orzo is done, stir in balsamic vinegar and the chopped parsley.
  • Serve immediately and top with grated cheese.

After making a big enough pot of soup to slurp all week, things are well in my food universe.

Cheers, my friends!

Missy

5 thoughts on “tiny meatball soup

  1. Wow, Sabine it has been uber cold here. It was 7 degrees when I took my dog for a walk this morning. So, we’ve had soup a lot! I saw in the forecast that you guys have a chance of snow. Take care and make soup!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi I already follow your fab blog, so thought I would share that I am super excited as I am officially in the running for the UK BLOG AWARDS 2017! If you could click the link and choose FoodandDrink&Lifestyle on the drop down menu:
    http://blogawardsuk.co.uk/ukba2017/entries/forkwardthinkingfoodinista
    Thank you kindly in advance your vote is much appreciated
    Melanie xx
    https://forkwardthinkingfoodinista.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/stop-there-is-still-time-to-have-your-say/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

