chioggia beet of my heart

chiogga beet of my heart
everyday, ordinary beets

A new grocer opened up in town a couple of months ago. It was a familiar stranger from a town where I previously lived. I visited often as it was close to where I worked. I tried to stop one day soon after they opened, but after unsuccessfully circling the parking lot, I left with the intention of returning after the hubbub had died down; that few days turned into several weeks; what a sad affair.

Last Friday I had a glorious few minutes to spare. I was in the area, this market no longer being the closest to me, so decided to stop. Parking and walking up to the entrance, I was immediately reminded of what I missed.

The entrance was inviting, like stepping into someone’s planted courtyard. There were pots of herbs and hanging planters of brown terracotta dipped in white and cylindrical birdfeeders hung horizontally – and I hadn’t even stepped thru the automatic doors.

 

chiogga beet of my heart
chanterelles, golden treasure of the forest

 

I made a beeline for the produce section as I was on the hunt for chanterelles since my vegetable man was out. Before I could find the golden fungus, the beets beckoned. I love them in all of their dirt-caked wonder. Deep burgundy red globes that stain all they contact and divinely mild yellow-orange beets the color of my favorite French marigolds. And, tucked right beside these earth dwellers were lovely Chioggia, aka candy-cane beets. I’ve seen pictures, read recipes with these beets, but never selected them up before. Not this time, though, a big one went into the basket.

 

chiogga beet of my heart
sliced and circular, chioggia beets are sweet and tender, just not quite candy-cane like
I’d like to tell you that my new heart-beet adventure was some fancy-Nancy gastro-creation that was going to take over the culinary world, but that simply was not the case. My belief is that some things are just better with a simple application.

The Chioggias – note: they are named after a city in Italy – were scrubbed lightly, so as to not disturb the skin, which is thinner than everyday beets, and roasted at 425 degrees for about an hour, along with some everyday beets. They cooled for a few minutes, were peeled, sliced, plattered up, splashed with olive oil and dusted with sea salt and coarse ground pepper.

 

chiogga beet of my heart
sadly, colors fade when cooked … and I forgot to take the before shots

 

I could come up with some brilliant encores for my new beet obsession, however, I’ll end the story. Isn’t that part of a good read, when you don’t want it to end?

I did managed to gather a few more items from the new market, but in my beet-driven state forgot the chanterelles. Oh well, there’s always another trip, right?

Happy eating –

Missy

9 thoughts on “chioggia beet of my heart

      1. They are really good roasted with just a little olive oil and sea salt. I did this for the lasagna, and it was really good. I also like them as a pasta topping, sautéed with garlic and parsley. And sometimes I ad a small can of coconut milk to make it a little creamy. What are you doing with them?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Similar. Sauteed to serve with pasta or meat, or with risotto, like sage and prosciutto. I also have a stew of chicken, sweet sausage and mushrooms that is served over rice that is incredible with chanterelles. They add another level of flavor.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

