lemon and blueberry icebox cake

lemon blueberry icebox cake
lemon blueberry icebox cake

“Grandma, this is the best dessert ever!” says my 11 year old grandson, as he grabs piece number three. I take that as high acclaim; right up there with a Michelin-star or two. The item of his gastronomic dreams was nothing other than an updated version of an old-fashioned back-of-the-box favorite: icebox cake.

I had seen the recipe, and been lured in by the photos. So I saved it on Pinterest.  Isn’t that what we all do these days? For me, it’s much tidier than all of the torn or cut-out pages that I have in files and folders, which I do go back to. There is still something enticing about thumbing through cookbooks and clippings of recipes from newspapers, or how about the cards that I have written in loved ones handwriting?

mixed berry jam, purchased item
mixed berry jam, purchased item

Icebox cake is kinda like those dear handwritten recipes.  It first popped up on the back of the chocolate wafer and graham cracker boxes, where the crackers and wafers were layered with cool-whip and berries or pudding, also mixed from a box.

Back in the day, it was all about the convenience of the box. I get it. Sometimes, there just aren’t enough hours in the day to do it all from scratch, but I do try, as much as possible, which was part of the intrigue of this icebox cake. It combined already made graham crackers with real whipped cream, lemon curd, which could be purchased or home-made and blueberry jam.  Once again, the jam could be from scratch or purchased. This seemed like this was the best of both the convenience-world and the I-want-to-do-it-myself-world. Consequently, my version of the pinned icebox cake did a monster mash of my two worlds.

lemon curd, a homemade item. i love it by the spoonful
lemon curd, a homemade item. i love it by the spoonful

Bon Appetit, once again, I adore you for publishing recipes that I can make as is, or zigzag into my own.

Blueberry-Lemon Icebox Cake (adapted)

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces honey whole-milk Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons finely grated lemon zest
  • 2½ cups chilled heavy cream
  • 1 cup lemon curd, divided
  • 16 graham crackers, divided
  • 1½ cups mixed berry jam, divided
  • ½ cup fresh blueberries

Method

  • Line a 9 x 9 pan with plastic wrap, leaving overhang on all sides.
  • Using an electric mixer on medium-high speed, beat yogurt and lemon zest in a large bowl until fluffy. Reduce speed to low; gradually add cream. Increase speed to medium as mixture thickens; beat until medium peaks form.
  • Transfer two-thirds of yogurt-cream mixture to another large bowl and fold in ½ cup lemon curd. Cover remaining yogurt-cream mixture; chill until ready to unmold and cover cake.
  • Place a single layer of graham crackers over bottom of prepared pan, breaking as needed to fit. Using a small offset spatula evenly spread a quarter of lemon cream over graham crackers. Dollop ½ cup jam over top, then gently spread evenly over lemon cream. Drizzle ¼  cup lemon curd over. Spoon a third of remaining lemon cream over curd and top with another layer of graham crackers. Repeat layering process with half of remaining lemon cream, ½ cup jam, and remaining lemon curd. Finish with a final layer of lemon cream, then graham crackers.
  • Cover with plastic wrap; freeze at least 6 hours.
  • Uncover cake and invert pan onto a platter. Using the plastic overhang to help you, unmold cake; peel off plastic. Spread top and sides of cake with reserved yogurt-cream mixture (if mixture looks a little loose, whisk until soft peaks form before using). Chill in freezer at least 15 minutes.
  • Just before serving, top cake with blueberries.
  • Cut in half and then one inch slices.

Toss on a few extra blueberries and watch it disappear.

Happy desserting –

Missy

 

8 thoughts on “lemon and blueberry icebox cake

  1. Oh, yummy. This is one I’ll make. Somewhere I have a recipe for lemon curd still. It’s been a long time since I used it, so I hope I still have it. I know I have the blueberries, and I know where they are, also know where the lemons are, and the cream, just have to search for that recipe now. I’ve always loved ice box cakes, pies, puddings –whatever. Thanks bunches Missy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you do, Sabine! If a person wanted to get real creative, you could make your own graham crackers, but I guess that would defeat the purpose of it being a back-of-the-box deal. Also, thanks for your words of encouragement. It’s nice to know someone enjoys what you do … and I can same the same to you and your writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

