toast + egg salad

toast
let us eat toast topped with eggs and avocado

Are you an egg person? I’m actually more of a toast person, and I like stuff on my toast. Peanut butter (has to be crunchy or extra crunchy if available) and jam (once again, I like the chunks), avocado with a bit of sea salt and a couple of grindings of black pepper or herbs and cheese and maybe some vegetable substance. To me, this is breakfast or even lunch or dinner.

Ever since I was a little girl, I was taught that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I follow that refrain, having a bite of something; not always straightaway, but after coffee and before even thinking about lunchtime. Some of my go-to’s include smoothies with lots of goodness crammed in, fruit and granola (love, love, love this) or back to the topped toast.  I’m not usually a waffle or pancake person. They’re just too sweet in the morning. Sort of like that barista who’s a little to chipper before I’ve received my cuppa.

chopped, custardy, boiled eggs
chopped, custardy, boiled eggs

Weekdays do not include eggs. There’s simply not enough time in my morning routine. Saturdays, however, is breakfast time, including multiple cups of coffee swirled with tons of half and half.  I like it to be blonde, imagine that.

My darling man likes his eggs to be juicy. You know, the type that runs all over the plate and needs to be sopped up with aforementioned toast. Me? It’s a little too much like baby chicken touching my lips; my eggs need to be firm or scrambled.

Not only does my man adore runny-yolked eggs, he totally digs egg salad. In fact a few years back he tactfully let me know that he’d much prefer having peanut butter, tuna fish or egg salad for lunch instead of the fancy-pancy turkey, cheese, sprouts, tomato, pepper Dagwood-type sandwich that I’d been slaving over. Wow, did he make my life easier with this revelation. Why didn’t I know that years ago?

All of this background for what was devised on egg day. Playing off the egg salad ditty, and my total infatuation with avocado, and the pot of basil sitting on my kitchen table, a new-to-me egg salad ensued.

avocado meet eggs, yum
avocado meet eggs, yum

Glorious, glorious medium cooked eggs were chopped up with a giant avocado that was perfectly ripe; again, quite chunky. These two lovelies were drenched with heady olive oil, a pinch of salt to bring out the flavor, tons of black pepper and a generous chiffonade of basil. That’s fancy for finely shredded.  Heavily seeded, Dave’s Killer Bread was popped into the toaster to be the fortunate carrier of this sans-mayo egg salad.

A little methodology

Here’s how I cook boiled eggs:

  • Place eggs in a sauce pan of cold water
  • Bring to a boil, cover and let set until the desired doneness.

                3 minutes – runny, soft-boiled

                4 minutes – slightly runny

                6 minutes – custard-like, yet firm soft-boiled

                10 minutes – firm, yet creamy hard-boiled

i had to add more pepper to the mix
i had to add more pepper to the mix

Can I just say how fabulous this was? The tiny bit of leftovers even made its way into my lunch, and I’m not a sandwich kind of girl.

Happy eating – Missy

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “toast + egg salad

  1. We really are birds of a feather! With the exception of coffee (I’m unusual), we love all of the same stuff. And toast + avocados + eggs…wow. Thank you so much for the idea. With a drizzle of olive oil and some sea salt this will make a lovely lunch!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, Marisa I think we must have been separated at birth and sent to opposite sides of the USA. Are you a tea drinker instead of addicted to coffee like I am?

      Like

  2. I’m with ya on the baby chicken part of runny eggs! I think I can get down with the custard boiled eggs though!! I eat a lot of eggs and getting sick of scrambled – this looks good, going to go with the 6 minute boil.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Jodi! Welcome. Thanks so much for taking time to read and comment! I hope you get a chance to give this a go. It’s such a great alternative to traditional egg salad, which I do love. This is just a whole other bird (pun sorta intended)!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful way to make egg salad (which I adore) without mayo! I HAVE to try this one. On of my favorite breakfasts is a boiled egg and avocado so this will be perfect!

    So glad to discover your site. I “met” you from a comment on incahootswithmuddyboots, a blog I have been enjoying for some time. I just love the WordPress community. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi LuAnne! Welcome. I met Sabine (incahootswithmuddyboots) when we were both in a writing class in the Portland area, and WordPress is a great way to stay connected since we moved away. Thanks so much for taking time to read, like and comment. By the way, I did read a couple of your pieces. Nice. I need to get back to writing more poetry.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

