it’s citrus season, so i’m thinking salmon

IMG_3877
baby oranges, you’ve got my heart

Where I live, the days are still short, and though we’ve had a tiny taste of spring the last week and a half, I woke up to a skiff of fresh snow.  The weatherman, with all of his charm, said we should get anywhere from 5 to 10 inches of snow in the mountains.  Winter hasn’t left yet.

One particularly encouraging part of winter is that it’s peak season for all sorts of citrus fruit; bites of sunshine when the snow keeps falling.  I can’t tell you how many bags of baby oranges, aka mandarins and satsumas we have consumed.  They are sweet, easy to peel and quite frankly, a yummy pick-me, pick-me nosh.

Choices aren’t limited to the handheld, peel and eats; grapefruit, kumquats, lemons and limes brilliantly brighten (a little alliteration going on here) the flavor of the hearty stuff filling my pots.  I find a bunch of chopped parsley and lemon zest perks up my ever-present stew and broiled grapefruit topped with brown sugar, thyme and red pepper flakes, well, let’s just say oh my at breakfast.

IMG_3839
grapefruit broiled with brown sugar, sans the red pepper flakes

Like a lot of people, at the beginning of the year I decided to “do” a few things – those blasted New Year’s resolutions.  One was to get back into my fish eating habit.  My favorite, next to halibut, is salmon.  I’m especially fond of wild-caught varieties from Alaska.  When my fam had a chance to visit Alaska a few years back, I got totally hooked, truly no pun intended.

IMG_4417
fish counter at Pike Place Market

You know where I’m heading.  It’s citrus season, so I’m thinking salmon.  This truly is an if this, then this scenario and not in a quantum leap sort of way; after all, little lemon wedges always accompany a plate of fish and chips.  Nope, citrus and fish are a match made in culinary heaven.

There are so many salmon recipes out there.  You could probably choose a different one every night and not cover the gamut.  I’ll not bore you with boat loads of ideas; instead a favorite go-to.

IMG_1277
still needs the dill before a roast in the oven

Roasted Citrus Salmon

Ingredients

  • 3 lb salmon fillet, boned and skinned
  • ½ cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 lemons thinly sliced
  • ½ cup fresh dill, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper

Method

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  • Line a baking sheet with tin foil and arrange fish on baking sheet.
  • Sprinkle salmon with the garlic, salt and several grindings of black pepper.  Cover the fish with the brown sugar, chopped dill and lemon slices.
  • Place salmon in the hot oven and roast until it is done and flesh is flaky, approximately 20 to 30 minutes depending on the thickness of the fillet.

Serve salmon warm as an entrée.  Leftovers can be stirred into chowder, formed into salmon cakes or tossed into a salad.  Mostly, we end up devouring the whole kit n’ caboodle, so may I suggest roasting two at a time?

Here’s to keeping at least one of my resolutions!  Happy citrus season…

– Missy

13 thoughts on “it’s citrus season, so i’m thinking salmon

    1. No, I haven’t. We don’t have New Seasons here – oh, darn – but we have Whole Foods. I’ll check with them. Sometimes, I check markets just to see if I can find something unusual…thanks for the tip!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hey Missy, good to see you here. And great to find a new recipe from you. I’ve saved it so I can make it this week. Still cooking for an army of one here, and guess I will be til death. It’s good to find you on WP, and I’ll be checking in frequently. Gonna reblog so some of my friends can also enjoy your recipes.

    Like

    1. Hey Angie! Thanks for checking out my newest blog. I always appreciate your comments. Let me know after you’ve fixed the salmon. I remember we’ve had a discussion on Alaskan salmon before. I hope you enjoy … and thanks for the reblog!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just have to pick up a few items at the grocery and I’ll be ready to make the salmon. Already have that item, cause that’s one thing I keep on hand. Some day I’ll even learn to take it out before I completely dry the poor fishy to a second death and make it almost impossible to eat. You would think I would have it down to a science by now, but most of my experience has been with the canned version because the fresh is so difficult to get here. Checked out the feasibility of ordering it from Pikes, but while the purchase price is reasonable, that first class ticket for getting it shipped here was out of my price range. Close to $150 just to get one little fish? Don’t think so. It was cheaper to get the smoked salmon shipped from Alaska.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Kentucky Angel and commented:
    This girl is one good cooker. Met her on LinkedIn a couple of years ago and have tried her recipes in the past, lost track for a while, and now I found her again. Check her out if you want some really fresh food and Slow Cooking.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve received lots of good vibes from this one, so your site should begin receiving some more traffic. Some of my viewers are food bloggers and at least one of them invites food bloggers to join in a common cause blog. Check out “Cheffie Cooks” by Cheryl Wiser, also on WordPress.

        Like

    1. Yes, that whole matter of shipping fish on dry ice can certainly add up fast. Many of the boats flash freeze, so what you get at the market is pretty good stuff.

      Big thanks, Angie for the kind words on the reblog! I sure appreciate it!

      Like

  3. Hi, if citrus and salmon season started what about to intensify taste a bit more with fresh grater pure wasabi, I mean the fresh root from the Wasabia japonica rootstem.
    Most of us never have tried fresh wasabi and only know the green substance from a plastic tube…well that is just horseradish from Japan mixed with mustard , soy – oil, salt and variant E-substances. The real fresh grated root is creamy and soft, pale green and not so pungent.
    Delicious umami taste with Yuzu fruit, plums, blue berries, honey, etc…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, you are right. I’ve never tried fresh wasabi, but now I’m going to have to seek it out. A little zest to the salmon, and other dishes. Thanks for the idea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

