food slacker here

Slacker!  Yes, I have been a food write-about-it slacker.  Oh, I’ve fixed and eaten plenty of good food.  The issue is nothing has made it to digital print for a few weeks.  Am I off to a good start for the New Year?  Oh, dear…

I had really good intentions to share a New Year’s pot of black-eyed peas with greens and ham-hock; standard fare for my grandparents.  Like many folks, it represented health and wealth for the coming year.  I don’t know about the wealth part, but the whole thing is crammed with a bunch of good-for-you stuff.  I serve the peas with cornmeal dumplings, a recipe that I picked up from Cooking Light a few years ago.

016See I at least have a pic of the black-eyed peas; a pot of them, not yet made.

My cupboards are jammed with bags of grains like farro, barley and quinoa; beans and lentils occupy space, too.  Truth be told (as opposed to making something up) the lentils made a fabulous dinner, cooked up with leftover bits of ham, the stock from said Christmas ham and a mirepoix of celery, onions and carrots.

potato kale soupCranberry filled dumplings floated on turkey vegetable soup and even a steamy Dutch oven full of potato kale soup with sweet chicken sausage sated a group of friends.  I have planned to make slow roasted tomatoes with farro, topped with fresh basil and shards of parmesan.

I’m seeing a recurring theme of warm, rustic, satisfying dishes that cook in one pan and fit in a bowl to be cupped while curled up on the sofa, fire blazing.  It’s been stinkin’ cold, no wonder I keep doing different grooves on vessels of steaming goodness.

So, you see my conundrum.  Great dishes have been shared with family, friends and quietly by the fire with my darling man; just not with you, my on-line friends.

New Year’s resolution:  remember and make time to dine digitally.

white beans with thymeSlated for supper in the next few days will be white beans with charred tomatoes, heaps of garlic and a large bunch of fresh thyme.  I’m kinda in love with fresh thyme, enjoying the earthy fragrance and flavor that it adds to everything from sweet jam to savory cheese or grain dishes.  This recipe is really a no-brainer.

Small White Beans with Charred Tomatoes and Thyme

Ingredients

  • 1 lb small white beans, rinsed and sorted of any debris
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 to 8 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • 2 cups rough chopped tomatoes
  • One bunch of fresh thyme or 2 tablespoons dried thyme
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  • Heat a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Swirl with a small amount of olive oil.
  • Sauté onions until translucent, but not browned; about 5 to 7 minutes. Add garlic and cook for another minute.
  • Add beans and stock to the pan. Bring to a boil and simmer 2 to 2 ½ hours, until beans are tender.
  • While beans are cooking, preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place tomatoes on a lightly greased, rimmed baking sheet.  Roast and char tomatoes.  It will take approximately 30 minutes.
  • Stir tomatoes and thyme into the pot of beans for the last half hour, allowing the beans to absorb the flavors.
  • Taste for salt and pepper, and adjust according to taste.

This is the kind of stuff I’ll be devouring this winter.  How about you, whatcha eating?

Happy belated New Year – Missy

3 thoughts on “food slacker here

    1. Yeah, I still haven’t fixed the black-eyed peas, but I will. My mom is going to try them and add chiles. I think they should be great that way. I saw your post this morning where you use them for tacos. Guess you and my mom are on the same page. Thanks for reading, and enjoy the rain!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

